A night at the San Francisco Ballet

As we made our way to the War Memorial in San Francisco, sentimental memories of my grandfather came to mind who each year during Christmas gave each family an ornamented nutcracker. Over the years, we have collected an array of decorative nutcrackers that festively brought a particular eloquence to our Bay Area home.

img_4191

In 1944, San Francisco opened the American premiere of Nutcracker on Christmas Eve! It was considered an instant sensation and became a ballet national holiday tradition.

img_4203

This timeless show opens in the toy maker’s shop. Drosselmeyer is putting the finishing touches to a beautiful nutcracker toy before heading out to the Christmas Party at the Stahbaum’s home. The young Clara and Fritz are taking part in the tree decorating ceremony for the very first time! Drosselmeyer brings wooden dolls to live and gives the nutcracker doll to Clara. Fritz breaks the Nutcracker by accident. Drosselmeyer fixes the joy of the Nutcracker for Clara.

img_4199

At the end of the party, Clara is tired and falls asleep with her nutcracker beside her. Awakening suddenly, she notices the room around her has changed dramatically. She enters into the fantasy world of the Nutcracker, toy soldiers, and rascally rodents. Clara helps by throwing her shoe, and the toy soldiers prevail.

A journey on a beautiful sled to a forest with dancing snowflakes, the Crystal Palace to meet the Sugar Plum Fairy and her candy courtiers. It was a spectacular show that brought fond memories of my childhood and especially my grandfather who each year bestowed on us the gift of beautiful memories.

This picture sits on my desks and I gaze at it frequently. Sometimes I wonder how much I would give to relive my childhood, to be child again with no cares accept family and friends. George was a great grandfather to me. Whenever I think of people who were so kind to me in life, papa George comes to the top of the list, especially as a child.

This picture sits on my desks and I gaze at it frequently. Papa George was a great grandfather to me. Whenever I think of people who were so kind to me in life, papa George comes to the top of the list, especially as a child.

FullSizeRender (36).jpg

A few nutcrackers on display at Grandma’s house … when we were children! 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A night at the San Francisco Ballet

  1. Nancy L says:

    Nice rememberings and photos. Are you the kid in the corner in the first one

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

