The man with the green cape …

IMG_3253

I finally had original Mexican food as I went with Father with a hungry stomach on Friday night to enjoy 9 tacos on the street! It was super delicious, enjoying it with some lemon and a classic coca-cola bottle. The cow kept talking in my stomach through the weekend!!

 

 

FullSizeRender (23).jpgTo the heart of the matter: On Sunday morning, I helped a man who was terribly wounded on the street and he wore a green cape. The green cape was unusually adorned with ornaments for a king, yet he had no resemblance to that of royalty. I carried him with two other people through the crowd of Mexican people. Oddly enough, countless people approached this man, not to comfort him, but to kiss the long green cape draping from my hands and next to my face. Even in the summer heat, the three of us carrying this man, lowered ourselves so that an elderly person in his wheelchair could touch the green cape ….

Let me back track a little bit:  I walked into a mob of people and through the street fairs to get to the Church on Sunday. It was crowded, shoulder to shoulder, as people sold food on the street and children enjoying countless rides. Balloons, food, the deafening sound of fireworks, multicolor banners filled the streets …. yet, all I could think about was the man in the green cape.

FullSizeRender (24).jpg

Back to the cape: I finally entered the Church with this man and hear an elderly lady scream, “¡Viva el Señor de la Misericordia!” It all made sense at that moment as I saw nothing but the back of this man …. scourged, beaten, and bruised. All the balloons, all the food, the deafening sound of fireworks, multicolor banners filled the streets for this scourged man. For it was not a man I was carrying, but the image of who this man represents.

I was carrying the image of the scourged Christ through the crowds and was moved. I thought of the scriptures:

 

“Suddenly a woman who had suffered from bleeding for twelve years came up behind Him and touched the fringe of His cloak. She said to herself, “If only I touch His cloak, I will be healed.”Jesus turned and saw her. “Take courage, daughter,” He said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was cured from that very hour.…” Matthew 9:20-21

I’ve learned that Christ speaks to the culture, people celebrate the passionate love that conquered evil … revealed in Christ. People wanted to draw close to this image, to feel the nearness of Jesus!

Thank you México, but most of all, thank you to the man in the green cape, for such an important reminder!

 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Mexico and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

