While everyone is in Kraków …

Thinking of +Father Jacques Hamel earlier today, I think of the psalms:

I was hard-pressed and was falling, but the LORD came to help me. The LORD is my strength and my song; he is my savior. There are shouts of joy and victory in the tents of the just.         ~Ps. 118:13-15

As I think of+Father Jacques Hamel I also think of another priest who gave his life for Christ …. Though we could not be with the youth of the world in Kraków, Michael and I took the advantage of visiting a saint in our area: Blessed Father Miguel Pro!

We had the opportunity to visit a museum in his honor and his relics in the parish where he was assigned. “The sufferings of this life cannot be compared to the glory that will be revealed in us in the life to come” (Antiphon in the Liturgy of the Hours, Common of One Martyr).

IMG_3098

Praying with Blessed Father Miguel Pro, I think about the courage it takes to be a martyr and I am reminded of a sermon by Saint Augustine of Hippo:

The Church everywhere flourishes through the glorious deeds of the holy martyrs. With our own eyes we can judge the truth of our song, that the death of his saints is precious in the sight of the Lord. It is precious in our sight and in the sight of the Lord as well, for in his name they died.

Here’s a short presentation on the life of this great Jesuit saint:

These men did not die for their political view points in a time of political unrest. Rather, they embraced the gift of intimately loving Jesus …. They loved him to the radical point of offering everything to him as witness for others that they may believe. The only thing worth dying for is love …. and love has a face …. it is the face of Christ!

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Catholic, mercy, Mexico and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to While everyone is in Kraków …

  1. Gloria Santana says:

    Felt so sick yesterday from the news. May we be as brave as Fr Hamel and Blessed Miguel Pro. Where is this museum?

  2. joela says:

    I first learnt about this revolution from For Greater Glory, which I really liked, but I don’t think Father Pro was featured in the film.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

