“Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.”

After a long day of work, the only place I’d like to find my self is the a book store, or a coffee shop! The ‘deserted place’ is the last place I’d like to visit to get refreshed … so why does Jesus invite us to such a place?

A few summers ago, I went to the desert for the first time to be with a friend for his birthday. I will never forget my reaction when I saw an enormous cactus for the first time! I learned very quickly that you have to use your eyes in a different way in order to find the beauty of the desert!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visiting in Yuma, Arizona!

Often times when we are looking to get away, we find other things (even in my situation books or coffee) to entertain us and to occupy us … it’s the way we deal with unwinding ourselves. Perhaps Jesus invites us to a deserted place so that we wouldn’t get caught up with external things. All we would have is Jesus. It’s the invitation to go to that inner mountain of our spiritual lives to meet the Lord and to find the hidden beauty and treasure of being with him!

We should never allow ourselves to feel uncertainty because as the psalmist reminds us … God will be our shepherd always leading us to green pastures, to streams of living water!

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Philippines. Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

