I’ve arrived!

After arriving onto the shores of the motherland, I felt a profound sense that I as far removed from my Daly City culture. *** for those who are not from the Bay Area, Daly City is located south of San Francisco proper. It’s gem is Serramonte Mall and its population is predominately Filipino.
After Ate Gladys and Kuya Jug picked me up I had my first taste of a little delicatessen of Filipino pastries! After having a little snack to hold us over, they brought me to their parish church to give thanks to God for save travels.


  
 The first day was honestly a profound eye opening of the culture. In certain parts, I saw the poor and homeless and only a stones throw away I would see something very familiar to what I know as home back in the Bay Area.

 

 

 

 

 

But even in the midst of these different social dynamics, I am filled with so much gratitude to be able to connect with my roots, the roots of my parents and grandparents, and to have such wonderful friends to experience it all for the first time!
Less I forget, on a side note, I am very grateful I am not driving through the streets of the Philippines…. No one stays in their own lane… Well, there are no lanes to begin with! At least I can place my life in the hands of a safe driver who literally makes me sit on the edge of my seat!! “Only in the Philippines!!”
Tomorrow, a look into the deep religiosity of the Filipino, a pilgrimage if you will, to some of Catholicism’s most popular Churches in the Philippines!

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Philippines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

