I’ve arrived!!

I joined the crowd at the airline surprised by the minimal amount of people boarding the 14 hour flight to the Philippines. Yet it was very beneficial on my part, having all four seats to myself, I created my own first class experience and made my bed!
  
I have to say, the one thing that caught my attention while boarding the plane was an elderly Filipina lady who flipped through a very familiar type of novena book covered with its plastic book cover. She flipped through its torn pages one after the other. I noticed that the prayers written on the pages were nearly unreadable. As she flipped to the final page, she made the sign of the cross, and put the prayer book away.  

Being around the Filipino culture on these shores my whole life, this was nothing new, yet it was profoundly different! It caused me to reflect… That the faith of the Filipino is so deeply ingrained In the person that their faith speaks beyond the tattered pages of their prayer book! It is a heartfelt religion that brings the Filipino such delight. Just a thought worth speaking about as I land in Manila this early morning before the rising of the sun. 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Philippines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

