If we were having coffee this weekend …

RIVERWALK CAFE BY RUANE MANNING

RIVERWALK CAFE BY RUANE MANNING

I’d tell you that I long to visit Europe again, enjoy some cafe, the beautiful scenery, all while reading a good book!

At the same time another photo calls my attention. It captures a place closer to home. It’s a place that bridged two worlds for me during a significant part of my life. The world of silence, prayer, and study — into the world of noise, universities, careers, and ambitious dreams. The photo is that of the driveway of Menlo Park’s Catholic Seminary.

IMG_4053

It’s a driveway that has been traveled many times. While it only takes a few seconds to travel, it opens a world that is hidden from the rest of Menlo Park. There is something about this photo that moves me to prayer. It calls to mind how journeys take all sort of directions as mine has this past year and a half. As my dad reminded me today … life is not about the destination, it is about the journey.

So as God continues to lead me into the journey once more, I stop, to simply give thanks to God for the gift of leading me and never abandoning my often blinded, weak heart. This is what I would tell you if we were having coffee …. this weekend.

 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in #WeekendCoffeeShare and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

