The Clock

FullSizeRender (30)

 

This clock has been hanging on the wall in my bedroom for over a year and a half. It’s hands gave out a long time ago at 12. Might seem insignificant  …. and it has for a long time until this morning ….

FullSizeRender (31)It use to hang at the top left corner, above the image of our Lady of Guadalupe and every morning I wake up I took notice that time has not moved. Yet, this morning, with no reason, I decided to finally bring it down to hang a new picture.

A beautiful gift from my students.

A beautiful gift from my students.

After hanging the picture and drinking my cup of coffee, I realized that something struck me (and it wasn’t the hour hand or the gong from a clock tower …). This desert period this past year and a half in my spiritual life felt like time ‘standing still’ —  a period of reflection, a period of drinking and being nourished, a period of rediscovery —- hence, the stilled clock.

Yet, at the dawn of a new beginning, this picture reminds me that the desert period has reached its end …. and ahead is a new adventure. #grateful.

 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in #WeekendCoffeeShare, Consecration to Jesus through Mary, Priesthood, Retreat, Summer thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Clock

  1. linhwins says:

    This event in your life is quite symbolic! Not many people would be able to interpret this. Thanks for sharing your story and your thoughts about it! I enjoyed reading this (-:

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

