The love of a faithful God

It’s a beautiful moment. Drinking my cup of coffee, I opened one of my journals which I worked through this past year. It was a gift from a dear friend on my 30th birthday as I embarked on this time away from seminary. I read it’s dedication on the first few pages. Written with tender love from a genuine friend, I am amazed how it feels as if I was reading them for the first time:

In these months ahead remember everything of yours is held by Him. The lives you touch, more already touched, we’re all written by the God you’ve always told me that would rather die that live with an eternity without you… be shamelessly authentic – reckless abandon. Be courageously intimate and sit with your longing without judgement. Be fearlessly empty and broken …”

I closed the journal, looked at a few photos that was recently sent to me and realized how much this invitation has been fulfilled in my heart. And I am grateful, grateful to the God who never forgets me. 11254687_10153798937069045_288176222_o As beautiful as these moments have been this year, life will change, yet God in his Son Jesus Christ, remains the same. 11233139_10153798937074045_1442500381_o My love for him may change or go forgotten at times, yet Jesus has ways of reminding us of his steadfast love, his unfathomable mercy.

School Choir 2014-2015

School Choir 2014-2015

I may change, my love may evolve or grow weak, yet in the heart of Jesus Christ, revealed in the tender innocence of children, I have rediscovered it again. I have fallen in love again with the same Jesus who has always loved me. And I am deeply grateful.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Meditation, Prayer, Priesthood, Retreat, Summer thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

