Drinking from a New Coffee Mug today!

FullSizeRender (20)The coffee began brewing and the water was boiling over the stove as I noticed something a little different today. My new mug had a smile on it. It’s a Disney mug, a gift from one of my students and it has Micky ears! It’s a little reminder that my life has changed as I tuck away the usual Starbucks mug, just for a moment, as I enjoy my daily morning ritual.

Birthdays really make a person like me look back on life. I’ve realized how much life has shifted over the past year, yet God remains constant in a constantly changing world.

IMG_2105

A snapshot into a simple dinner last night with my students, their families & a few friends. I’m deeply grateful to God for being my Good Shepherd. Even after a year, my life has dramatically shifted and yet the Lord has guided me with his staff never leaving me abandon and giving me souls such as these to mentor and guide.

Perhaps the prayer that I contemplate as I sip this cup of coffee is a prayer composed by Thomas Merton which best summarizes my sentiments.

IMG_2087IMG_2108“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think that I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it. Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.”

 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in #WeekendCoffeeShare, Blogging101, Catholic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

