Crushed and grounded more than just like coffee beans

IMG_1930I love being Catholic! Being Catholic is more than just a self-help program, 12 steps to a better life, or quick-easy-fix religion. Dare I say, being Catholic is the very opposite. I’ve come to understand, appreciate, and ponder that following Jesus as a Catholic helps me to understand brokenness. Following Jesus helps me understand that my suffering, obstacles, disappointments are more than a series of these crazy random events in the universe. As a matter fact, they mean something.

As plants grow in the silence of their lives and ofter cut from all their dry leaves, so too with the believer who follows Jesus. Often times, we have to stand in the stillness and quietness of life and allow God to refashion us, remold us, and remake us.

Their is meaning in suffering. Ultimately, we become what we eat. But in the Catholic conviction, we become WHO we eat. As I was reminded the other night, watching this lady reaching to touch the Lord Jesus … we are blessed like bread, broken like bread …. WHY? So that we can be given like Him to the world.

IMG_1920 (1)

“Only in love can I find you, my God. In love the gates of my soul spring open, allowing me to breathe a new air of freedom and forget my own petty self. In love my whole being streams forth out of the rigid confines of narrowness and anxious self-assertion, which make me a prisoner of my own poverty and emptiness. In love all the powers of my soul flow out toward you, wanting never more to return, but to lose themselves completely in you, since by your love you are the inmost center of my heart, closer to me than I am to myself.

But when I love you, when I manage to break out of the narrow circle of self and leave behind the restless agony of unanswered questions, when my blinded eyes no longer look merely from afar and from the outside upon your unapproachable brightness, and much more when you yourself, O Incomprehensible One, have become through love the inmost center of my life, then I can bury myself entirely in you, O mysterious God, and with myself all my questions.” ~Karl Rahner

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Blogging101, Catholic, Consecration to Jesus through Mary, Eucharist, Eucharistic Adoration, Fun, Love, Mother of God, Prayer, Retreat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crushed and grounded more than just like coffee beans

  1. jane arney says:

    I wanted to comment that 12-step programs are not a quick fix. When done properly, they are a lifetime spiritual journey with God/Higher Power away from addiction and towards grace by admitting our brokenness and then helping others. I am Catholic also, and I love your comment that “we are blessed like bread, broken like bread …. WHY? So that we can be given like Him to the world.”

    Blessings & Joy,
    Jane

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

