Where is Jesus?

 

10363462_823858984304427_189567059017495483_o

Bishop Walsh blessing the corner of 14th Avenue and Judah Street with the Blessed Sacrament at the culmination of the 107th Novena to Good Saint Anne

It’s a foggy morning at the end of July, here in San Francisco. I’m trying to wake up with my black coffee which was just pressed from my friend’s Keurig Coffee Machine. As I sip it, I am looking out into the city skyline and see San Francisco at the horizon.

Disney’s Goofy is imprinted on my coffee mug. This timeless character is laughing at me as a question strikes my heart, “Where is Jesus found?”

Above is a picture capturing Jesus being brought onto the streets of San Francisco. My Godson is incensing the Blessed Sacrament as I look on behind him. Jesus is found where he is found, where all humanity meets, with Christ as the center of that meeting.

Jesus is found in the hospitals (where I found myself for 6 hours yesterday in the Emergency Room with a friend) Jesus is found in the city as I gaze out to the many houses and avenues, parks and buildings. Jesus is the central event of the human experience. He is the joy of the human heart and the consolation to all of life’s unanswered questions. I hope that on this Sunday, we have the joy of meeting him as he comes to meet us.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in LENT. Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

