The Terror of Demons

Theology on Tap had its monthly meeting in Vallejo last night. We heard from Father Sergio Perez, OSJ and his love for Saint Joseph. These oblates have a great love for the youth and I truly enjoyed his message on looking to Saint Joseph as the model of the new evangelization.

Joseph is known as the Saint of Silence whom much is not written about in the scriptures, yet, he remained the guardian and protector of his wife the Virgin Mary and of Jesus, whom he considered his own son.

He is the saint who was prepared to do God’s will! We must look to him as the example of doing God’s will when it pushes us beyond our boundaries and our own personal dreams and agenda as he listened to the angel and brought the holy family into exile.

Yet, this simple carpenter, amazes me as it was brought to my attention that he teaches us adoration! He teaches us the importance of intimately holding the Lord Jesus in our arms, gazing at him, and loving him. Brings to mind this old image of Saint Joseph that I gazed upon every time I made my way to the coffee shop at my alma mater, Mount Angel Seminary. Here’s a copy that was given to me for my birthday in 2009.

photo 1 (1)

 

Amazing how God was working yesterday! Right before I made my way to this presentation on the earthly, legal, foster father of Jesus, my friend asked me to be the future Godfather of her daughter at Baptism! A blessing indeed to care for another soul for the Kingdom of God! Saint Joseph, Guardian of the Universal Church and Terror of demons, pray for us.

photo 2 (3)

The Holy Spouses Prayer

Mary, full of grace, and Joseph, son of David; honor to you, Mother of God, and to you, guardian of the Redeemer. Eternal praise to the child with whom you formed a family, Jesus. Holy Spouses, pray for us sinners, our families and communities, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in LENT and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

