This year thus far ….

HaikuLadder

 

Here’s an image of the 2,500 foot ascent to the “Stairway to Heaven” found in Hawaii which was built after World War II. It led to a station that sent low frequency messages to submarines navigating around Japan. And as you can see, it’s not an easy journey in either direction!

34

 

I am at this point in life in which I pause to pray and consider, which direction I am really headed? Am I ascending the mountain where prophets and God’s people met the Lord? To climb a mountain means to seek refreshment and to find answers and ultimately to commune with God.

Or am I descending??? In which I have spent my years with the Lord and after meeting him I now turn to a new direction in life?

photo (3)

 

This past Monday, I attending Solemn Vespers for the blessing of the miter, crozier, and episcopal ring of the new auxiliary bishop of Sacramento. An event such as this reminds me of how God always provides shepherds for his people. This is a cool picture as I realized I caught the Dominican Sisters at prayer. These are the five Religious Women whom I have the honor of working for at Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary School in Sacramento.

The next day, we were able to crab seats at the front of the choir loft of the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament in Sacramento. Nothing beats this view as we watched bishop-elect in the opening procession!

photo (5)

The seminarians posing for a quick shot before the beginning of the liturgy!

photo (4)

And finally, a selfie with the new bishop thanks to the inspiration of Pope Francis. I sent him a tweet, maybe he will respond??

photo 2 (2)

This is only one snap shot of one day in this year I’ve taken to further discern my journey with Christ. One thing is for sure, Christ is with me on my journey. I am learning to completely trust him and when I trust him, I will not fear wether I am ascending or descending the mountain of life because I know Jesus will never lead me astray.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in LENT and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

