From Rome to north of the Golden Gate & back to Menlo

 

 

553652_3424009170790_785860798_n

It only seemed like yesterday when I sat on the steps of the Roman Forum cooling off with a cold bottle of water, walked around the plaza of Saint Peter’s Basilica under the embrace of Bernini’s colonnade. It also seems that it was only yesterday, when I spent the good part of year learning, enduring, and contemplating God’s will for my life as I carried out my internship at Saint Raphael Parish in San Rafael. I met God’s people there from a variety of ages and experiences. They have taught me so much, they have taught me the price of loving God, the joy of loving and serving God through them.

525457_10151350406556555_1245353115_n

And then I woke up today and realized that I was back at Menlo for my 8th year of formation. Ninety-four seminarians fill this house of formation at Saint Patrick’s Seminary & University.

1243248_613603295329721_293551678_o

 In his homily to the house, Archbishop Cordelione challenged the seminarians to allow God to be the chisel that forms our hearts. God fashions us, chips away at our rough edges, and makes us ready for his purpose. Chisel my heart, O Lord, with your burning love.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

