He was taken from their sight

sr_0228_PopeFarewell_480x360The final image of Pope Benedict XVI as Supreme Roman Pontiff of the Church. Now retired and spending his years hidden from the world, in a life of prayer and solitude in the outskirts of the Eternal City. His final sentiments (translated in English):

Thank you – thank you from my heart!

Dear friends, I’m happy to be with you, that I can see the Creator’s beauty around us, and all the goodness you’ve given to me – thank you for your friendship and your affection!

You know that this day of mine hasn’t been like those before. I’m no longer the Supreme Pontiff of the Catholic church – at least, at 8 o’clock I won’t be – now I’m just a pilgrim beginning the last part of his journey on earth.

With all my heart, with all my love, with my prayer and all my strength – with everything in me – I’d like to work for the common good of the church and all humanity. I feel your kindness so much.

Let us always move together toward the Lord for the good of the church and of the world. Thank you for bringing yourselves [here] – with all my heart, I give you my blessing….

Thank you and goodnight!

And now we look toward the Third Sunday in Lent as we pray for the Cardinals who will elect the Successor of Peter and as we look to the renewal of our own Baptism and those to be baptized at Easter. Come, Holy Spirit, be with the Church.

575011_10151508053142931_1517398694_n

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in LENT and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

