Cecilia the martyr & friend of musicians

This antique card was a gift from a friend in Seattle. It reminds me of my trip to Rome this past summer when I visited my patron, Cecilia, at her tomb right outside the walls of the Eternal City. Her testimony to sing the praises of God amidst her martyrdom is a reminder that we are all called to give witness to Christ in our own unique way.

On a personal note: Life is not about discovering what we think God wants. Life is a journey of unraveling what God has prepared for us as one made in His image!

To all my musician friends and to my Goddaughter: a blessed feast day! Happy Feast of Saint Cecilia! May she help us to grow in our commitment to singing God’s praises.

;

20121121-205146.jpg

My Goddaughter and I praying at the shrine of Saint Cecilia in San Francisco on the eve of her feast day.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cecilia the martyr & friend of musicians

  1. Gmama says:

    Today is my granddaughter Lucia Cecilia’s feast. I will skype her in Uruguay and wish her blessings. Fun talking to you last night. Three years ago it was you, Jeremy, Arturo, Gabe, Adam and me God does have a sense of humor. Blessings and hugs, Gmama

  2. Tena Tinch says:

    I really like it when folks get together and share thoughts. Great blog, continue the good work!

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

