This soon-to-be-saint stopped by

Cardinal Stanislav Dziwisz, Archbishop of Krakow and former personal secretary of Pope John Paul II, prays in front of the Tomb of  new blessed John Paul II at the St. Peter's Basilica on May 3, 2011 in Vatican City, Vatican.  The body of John Paul II was moved to the new resting place, near Michelangelo's 'The Pieta' statue, after a lavish beatification ceremony.

Cardinal Stanislav Dziwisz, Archbishop of Krakow, and former secretary to the polish pope, honors the tomb of Blessed Pope John Paul II. It was here that I spent time praying with this beloved saint and asked him to pray for me, to help me find the courage to love the Lord in the manner he did. There was a great peace every time I visited Pope John Paul II in the Eternal City this past summer. I was among countless pilgrims who sought the prayers of this soon-to-be saint.

There was even moment when I snuck through the ropes to simply touch the stone of his tomb as the cardinal did in the picture above. Just as I touched the stone, as a way of connecting with heaven, the security guard graciously asked me to step away!! O those funny memories in the Vatican!  Here’s a clip from the Funeral Liturgy of the Successor of Saint Peter as the world bid him farewell on his journey home to God.

Yesterday, when I least expected it, I found this at the front of my room and at that moment, I knew this saint who I visited many times in the Eternal City was with me! I took a moment to pray and thanked the person who gave me this gift only to tell her the story of why this picture and this note means so much.

We all belong to the Communion of Saints and moments like this remind me that God has gathered a family to himself to help us on our way home to heaven. May we remember those who intercede for us to Jesus as we move into the busiest part of the year!

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Fun, Pastoral Year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This soon-to-be-saint stopped by

  1. Pingback: The two popes | Aspiring to know God

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

