The Hope amidst tragedy

20121103-081116.jpg

Brother Robin Bernabe (far right), a seminarian for the Missionaries of the Holy Spirit. His sincere joy and kindness, but above all his love for Jesus, was terribly attractive during my chapter at Mount Angel Seminary. Even after I graduated and returned to visit my alma mater, Brother Robin welcomed me to his Religious Community and gave me shelter.

On November 2, All Souls Day, he was killed in an automobile accident. The Lord took him home on the First Friday, a day rooted in his spirituality, and a day when all the faithful departed are remembered.

I will deeply miss him and his physical absence allows me to feel how much he has touched my life as a disciple of Jesus. It is a reminder that life is too short and we must always be ready to return to God.

I hope, in this month of remembering our dead, we find the time to be in relationship with each other, to forgive without counting the cost and to love knowing our eternal reward.

May you rest eternally in the embrace of God, Kuya Robin. Thank you for loving Jesus and teaching us how to love him even more. Pray for us…

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

