Musing the Art, a few thoughts as things come to a close ….

The gentle eyes of Jesus gazes intently on the one mocking him in Annibale Carraci’s The Mocking of Christ. It portrays the meekness of the Lamb of God who reaches towards the man who crowns the Lord of lords with thorns. Christ reaches with tenderness and love. Why is it that we cannot see the face of the man? Perhaps the very person who crowns God is the one reading this blog. It is you and I. This work of art calls to mind that we are constantly being sought after by God, the God who will not let us go. He is the God whose love speaks to death and reaches out to us, only enough, for us to choose him in return. Our Lord’s prayer in the psalm is our prayer:

“I cry aloud to God, cry to God to hear me. On the day of my distress I seek the Lord; by night my hands are raised unceasingly; I refuse to be consoled. When I think of God, I groan; as I ponder, my spirit grows faint …. I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, your wonders of old I will remember” (Psalm 77.1-4, 12)

The art of Rome captivates the human imagination! It pierces us like a dart and moves us out of ourselves to have an encounter with God, the source of all beauty, the One who is beauty and goodness.

The two photos above are a sampling of the art that has deeply moved me to prayer during my short time in Rome.

The Holy Father’s sentiments are my sentiments when speaking of Michelangelo’s Last Judgement and how it “reminds us that human history is movement and ascent, a continuing tension towards fullness, towards human happiness, towards a horizon that always transcends the present moment even as the two coincide. Yet the dramatic scene portrayed in this fresco also places before our eyes the risk of man’s definitive fall, a risk that threatens to engulf him whenever he allows himself to be led astray by the forces of evil. So the fresco issues a strong prophetic cry against evil, against every form of injustice. For believers, though, the Risen Christ is the Way, the Truth and the Life. For his faithful followers, he is the Door through which we are brought to that “face-to-face” vision of God from which limitless, full and definitive happiness flows” (Pope Benedict XVI, Address to Artists, November 22, 2009).

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musing the Art, a few thoughts as things come to a close ….

  1. Sean says:

    Hi JR! I have greatly enjoyed your posts chronicling your experiences in this great program. Thank you for sharing your photos and reflections and for allowing us to join you on this incredible journey. Please be assured of my prayers for a fruitful Rome Experience and for a safe trip home. I look forward to hearing your stories first hand. If you still have time, visit a Marian chapel or church (e.g. Santa Maria dell’anima, Santa Maria in Vallicella, or Santa Maria in Trastevere) and please commend me to the care and protection of Our Lady. Grazie mille!

    • mjaldon says:

      Hi Sean! Happy Feast of Peter & Paul. I will not be able to visit a Marian shrine during my short hours left, but be assured that I remembered you at the Paullium Mass this morning!

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

