Arrivederci to the Eternal City!

 

O Eternal City, I have come to you to meet Jesus Christ …. and I have found Him! 

And so, this morning ends my short “pilgrimage at the heart of Christianity! It has been quality time well spent with God and the saints. It is the place surrounded by popes, men, women, and children whose blood  built the Church from her beginning! It’s a place where the Vicar of Christ teaches, where faith is celebrated, where sacraments are administered, where one is renewed …. many call it Rome, but to every Catholic it is home. It is here where the faith which my parents gave me through the waters of baptism began and I am deeply grateful for such a gift – to know, love, and serve God.

God has been so good to me! I have taken much from this trip and believe that God’s personal message for me can be found in the short video clip below.

And of course, roaming Rome for gelato! I will cherish these night runs with these gentlemen.

As morning breaks, we pack our bags and prepare to celebrate the Solemnity of Saints Peter & Paul with the Holy Father. Our trip ends with a visit to Norcia, the birthplace of Saint Benedict. Afterwards, we take a trip not too far off to one of the most popular saints in Christianity, a saint who holds a dear place in my heart: Francis! How appropriate to visit this saint before returning to the city I also call home, the city where I will one day serve as priest, the city named after him: San Francisco!

Arrivederci Vatican City! Until we see each other again! 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Priesthood. Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

