A journey begins

Ordination to the Diaconate in the Archdiocese of Portland in Oregon today. 

The journey to the Eternal City has begun! Today, the Golden Gate celebrates 75 years, Bay to Breakers takes off tomorrow, ordinations and graduations fill up people’s schedules, and in the middle of all of this I am making my way to Rome!

First stop: Chicago. Tomorrow I will be meeting with seminarians across the country and we will make our way to the University of Saint Mary of the Lake Mundelein Seminary to orient ourselves for the next few weeks.

I continue to ponder my own life and how I am weak without the LORD and this led me to ponder on Judas and Peter. Both these men ate with the Lord, they heard his teachings, and witnessed his miracles. Yet, Judas betrayed the Master and Peter denied Him. In his goodness, the Lord called Peter in the midst of his weakness and struggles and called him to share in the great mission of the Gospel.

2,000 years later and the successor of Peter still shepherds souls and guides the members of the Church towards heavenly glory! NOW, God is calling me to Rome to hear the Vicar of Christ speak, to study, and to discern my vocation more deeply. I am terribly looking forward to what these weeks have in store for my life and my vocation.

A beautiful way to cap the week before taking off for this journey to the Eternal City!

Eluisphoto 

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

