To my mom: “If there were words beyond ‘I love you’ they are for you”

“Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God; everyone who loves is begotten by God and knows God. Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love. In this way the love of God was revealed to us: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might have life through him. In this is love: not that we have loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as expiation for our sins.” 1 John 4.7-10

Today’s second reading reminds us that a true and real encounter with God is an encounter with love. The first moment in which we recognize such love is the love of our own mother. My mom has been my strength my whole life and has taught me to love by her own selfless example. She has always stood by me and provided for everything I’ve needed in this life and I hope my life can be a gift back to her and I hope that my love will leads her home to the Father. She is God’s gift to me!

God’s greatest gift is his Son whom we receive every Sunday as the Word is proclaimed and as we partake in Eucharist. Christ invites us to remain in his love, to stay connected. After all, it’s only in abiding in Christ in which we are able to have life!

As we abide with Christ, remember our mothers who loved us in the womb and may Mary, the Mother of Christ, always teach us to care for our earthly mothers with tenderness.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To my mom: “If there were words beyond ‘I love you’ they are for you”

  1. Pingback: 134.366 « Eric Luis Photography

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

