A final thought on the first thing: Godfather

In one sense, a Father-to Be in Christ’s ministerial priesthood …. and in another sense, a heart of thanksgiving in being called as a Godfather.

She is the first to confess that she will never take piano lessons from me again since I was hard on her many years ago. Yet, she is one whom I owe thanksgiving to God!

My Goddaughter has stood with me since the first day of my journey to the priesthood always ready to cheer me on. I remember the one promise I made her at Confirmation, to love her to heaven.

Yet, in many ways, I feel that she too is loving me to heaven as she prays for me, as we serve together through music at liturgy, and share in the frolics and simple joys of life whether over a meal at Park Chow or Sushi in Japan Town or just talking over a cup of coffee.

In this final post of 2011, in reflecting on the three things that have brought about overwhelming happiness, fulfillment, and joy in my life, words would not be enough to express how much my Goddaughter means to me and how much her life has blessed my own life and journey to the priesthood. So I offer a simple

Thank you, Goddaughter, for being an immeasurable part of my life. I will spend my days being eternally grateful to God for the gift you are to me …

Wishing all of you and yours a blessed New Year 2012!

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

