Gift of Music

When I was a young boy, I never really liked playing the piano. The irony is hearing my former piano students share the exact same woe!

But as I look back on my life, especially as we wrap up 2011, I am grateful to my parents and grandmother for having me take music lessons and watching my progress through countless practice sessions. What once started as private piano lessons at my grandmother’s home, to lessons at the San Francisco Conservatory, and further private lessons with several teachers, has become a gift that I have given back to God and the Church.

One is simply humbled when one looks back to see how much people have invested in a person’s gift. A gift or talent is never meant to be hidden, but always shared. I thought I gave it all up when I entered the seminary, but God dared to prove me wrong. The gift he generously give, he abundantly uses for his purpose. In more recent times, God has fulfilled my dreams of composing music and directing choirs in the context of seminary life.

There is a beauty in doing Church music. The Church musician brings about hope and the message of the gospel through the sound of the voice and the instrument. When one yields to God’s will, music penetrates the heart and brings hope and healing to those who come to the altar of God. Music brings hope and healing to the musician as well.

Thank you, O God, for your generous gift of music.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

