Never lost


Browsing online, I stumbled across this picture from our retreat in 2009. Pictured to my right is Eddie. Eddie and I have known each other for a few years now and we’ve met through the Young Adult Group in Fairfield …. as if it were on accident.

Eddie has had a unique faith-journey to say the least and only in recent times have we caught up. Our meeting last evening stood out like the light at the end of a darken tunnel! Last night was our final night together before he takes off to Alaska for a year’s worth of work. In recent times, Eddie has fallen out of faith, yet just when I thought the evening was over he asked if he and I could go to Church. Bamboozled by God, my only response was a resounding, “Of course.”

We spent a good amount of time, simply talking about God and gazing at the glowing crucifix that hangs central in Saint Stephen’s sanctuary. We spent time talking about the reality of God remaining with us in the Bread of Life. We spent a good amount of time, considering the fact that no one is ever far from God’s reach.

After last night, I knew God was slowly answering my daily prayers for Eddie. God’s timing is perfect. God’s timing is always perfect and simply priceless. For what God is doing in Eddie is a pure gift: the gift of faith. It is the best amount of time I’ve spent with a dear friend who is sincerely seeking God’s heart. This morning, my only words are simple words of gratitude to God.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Summer thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

