Celebrating World Day of Prayer for Vocations

This year, May 15th is designated as the World Day of Prayer for Vocations. 

Two clips celebrating Marriage & Priesthood

Vocation to Marriage

Vocation to the Priesthood

No matter which direction I look at in life, God is good. One moment, I am with a priest friend burying the dead and sharing in the prayers before the casket is lowered into the ground. The next minute I am at a Young Adult Meeting and celebrating my friend’s reception of the Sacrament of Confirmation. Later, I’d witness my pastor announce his reassignment to another parish in July. And the week is only getting started.

God takes us in so many directions. These directions in a sense remind us of how big the world is and how involved God is in the world. Sometimes we have to simply stop and allow ourselves to give thanks for all God is doing.

It all makes sense. The Lord is our shepherd and when we keep him in the center of our lives, he will never lead us astray (Psalm 23).

Today, the whole Church prays for vocations. As we discern God’s call, keep in mind that discernment is more than just a concept. Discernment has a face. God reveals his will to us not only in the silence of prayer and adoration, but in the people who surround our everyday lives. He is a personal God who does not hesitate in speaking in our ordinary experiences.

“Lord, I thank You for the gifts You have given me, especially for life, love, family and friends.

Help me to know myself better and to know my talents, as I pray, study and decide on my life’s work.

Help me to see and understand the path You open for me. Help me choose a life’s work which will be in response to my potential and your love for me.

If I am being invited to follow You as a priest, brother, sister, give me a generous heart to respond to your challenging call and the strength to follow You wherever You lead me.

Amen.”

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Priesthood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

