The most “romantic” night of the year

Jarred Barrios says it best in his Facebook status this morning:

“As you have loved me, I shall love. As you have served me, I shall serve. As you have given your body and blood for me, I shall give all of myself out of love. My basin is ready….”

This day is known as Holy Thursday or Maundy Thursday. It is also known as Covenant Thursday or Thursday of Mysteries.

I’ve heard some people call it the most romantic night of the year. Jesus takes us out for a very special dinner. It’s not only a meal where we gather, but he has gifts for us. Jesus gifts the world with his priesthood, so that we may share in his mission. Jesus gives us the gift of the Eucharist, so that we may never go hungry and be truly satisfied with the gift of Himself.

But it will not end there! He will wash our feet. And by washing our feet he washes all those things that prevent us from fully knowing and loving him. He calls us friends!

He will then invite us to keep vigil with him, to remain with him for the night. To be with him in prayer as he endures his passion.

I pray that we can imitate his great deed that is now upon us. I pray that we can love as he loved and as deeply as he has loved. Indeed, the most romantic night of the year!

“It is at this time where we are invited to contemplate the mystery of the Cross… Holy Thursday to acknowledge the gift of Priestly ministry, Good Friday to imprint ever more deeply the mystery of the Cross in our hearts, Holy Saturday a day of interior meditation…” – Pope Benedict XVI


About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in LENT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

