Why You are my Valentine?

These learned men and women speak of You day in and day out amidst these brick walls that surround my home. They speak with depth of Your great deed once long ago that is made real every day we gather to worship. I am amazed by You. I am amazed because You go out out of Your way to captivate me with Your extravagant love.

On Friday, You allowed me to see you in those who are suffering. You made me realize that Your love is more than just a feel good feeling, but it is love that is real and committed. I saw you in loving through a suffering father for his wife and children and those he loves. YES. I saw You in him and for that I stand in awe of You.

Yet, you don’t end there… Friday night, you brought me to another place to be with Your children and speak Your truth. Again You showered me with your gifts found in a simple box and in the joys of being with good friends. You captivated me even when I shared the most simplest moments with my family whom I know love me very much because of You.

You caught my attention on Sunday morning, as I visited another at a hospital and reminded me that so many others love You as well. You brought me again to speak Your truth to those who are still getting to know You and wanting to love You. And on Sunday afternoon you gave me the joy of good company for lunch, being with those I care for once again, a pleasant phone call, and back to your Eucharist in the evening, making music with those who are very important in my life.

I love You, Jesus. Because You have gone out of Your way to allow me to see You in the joys and laughter of life. But above all, You have allowed me to see You in those who are suffering, the young and the old, You have allowed me to touch your pierced side and You have assured me that you are risen indeed. And to You, I am grateful. Grateful, not because I chose you to be my Valentine, but because you FIRST love me since the beginning.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

