First step

This morning preparations were discussed on receiving the Ministry of Reader. This is the first step towards priestly ordination. One of the things I had to do was write a letter of petition to the Archbishop of San Francisco in my own handwriting. Here it is:

Dear Archbishop Niederauer;

I, Manolito S. Jaldon, a layman of the Archdiocese of San Francisco, petition that I may be installed in the Ministry of Reader for service of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. I make this request freely, motivated by no consideration other than the Glory of God, the service of the Church, and the salvation of my soul. I am aware of the obligations attached to this state.

We will receive the Ministry of Reader at Saint Patrick’s Seminary at Vespers on Wednesday, February 23 at 6:45pm. The presider will be Bishop Stephen E. Blaire of Stockton. It’s definitely an exciting feeling! A friend’s words are found fitting for my feelings this morning, “Thus, the first step to priesthood. To be a bearer of the living Word of God; to be a person, a flesh for the Word to enter and engulf and exclaim with all love: This is my Body, This is my Blood.”

 

“Indeed, the word of God is living and effective, sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating even between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, and able to discern reflections and thoughts of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Priesthood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

