“I could only imagine”

It was a night filled with mixed emotions, yet I was very excited to land back into Portland. Obviously, it was dark, wet, and cold as I exited the airport. Welcomed by Alfred and James, we made our way to meet Ate Pia, pick up a few things, and of course Starbucks!

We slowly drove up the hill to gaze at the Stations. A great joy filled my heart, to see friends and familiar faces on that tiny hill in the middle of no where. I think the pure and rich joy of being back was not about Mount Angel Seminary itself. Rather, it was being able to see where God has brought me now and to praise God for he is a faithful God who keeps his promises. He reminds us that he is with us through the friends we have loved and continue to love. I enjoyed spending time with those I care for and laughing out loud in a familiar place!

This was made real for me in my short trip to Mount Angel and celebrating Mike and Rhonda’s wedding on Sunday. Here too, familiar faces, small reunions, and we all gather to celebrate the Paschal Mystery and the Sacrament where “the two shall become one.”

Maybe in another place, outside of time, we will gather. Gather on a “hill in the middle of no where” in a “marriage” with the eternal God. And on that “hill” we will see familiar faces who radiate the Resurrected Christ, we will rejoice at the Great Feast for all eternity, giving glory and praise to Almighty God who is faithful. On that “hill” we will be married to the one who has gone before us to prepare a place of many rooms and mansions. Yes. I can only imagine such a future.

About TheAspiringCatholic

Welcome and thank you for visiting this page! You’ll find my personal reflections on Christian Discipleship, insights on my adventures throughout the world, one day at a time, and musing everything Catholic and musical with a cup of coffee each morning.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Retreat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Taking a collection for your thoughts!

